x

Username:

Password:

or Register

Lost Password?

Diesel heater
10-07-20, 06:14 PM
Diesel heater
As I am thinking of wild camping next winter abroad, I realise that Calor is not available there so thought of a diesel heater. The particular one I am interested in is below. Has anyone fitted such a heater? There is a lot about these heaters particularly in the USA for "Boondocking" as they call it.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/FlowerW-Webasto...315&sr=8-9
Your thoughts please (we are both hothouse plants)
Bob
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-07-20, 07:54 PM
RE: Diesel heater
I've no experience of them and I don't understand Chinese. 92
When I was using mine for work through the winter a few years ago I used to leave an oil filled radiator on just to keep the chill off while I wasn't there. I was on hook up so no problem with the electric to run it. It was also a good supplement to the trailer heating.

Ken

Kountrylite Compact / Black V6 Navara
10-07-20, 08:59 PM
Diesel heater
Gosh.
Not my subject but as an ex A& E nurse it sounds very dangerous. I’ve seen so many burns caused by people not knowing what they were doing.
I suggest trying to contact HGV drivers who might use them then find a reliable source that will educate you about it.
We don’t want anyone injured or your rig burnt to a crisp.
What do people do in the country you are visiting?
Be careful.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
10-07-20, 09:11 PM
Mrs M I am a qualified engineer who for many years prefered to work outdoors as a class 1 hgv driver and have used cab heaters made in Germany many times. These heaters have 4 "pipes" 2 are for the burner and the air in and exhaust out and are vented to the outside. The remaining 2 are for colder air in and hot air out into the cab.